Love Poem: Constant Longing

Love Poem Dark

Constant Longing
by Tessa Saks

And with this—the summer
of my discontent.
How could you know
how to see
the trouble within,
a stillness be?

Shorn from soul
a troubled mind
a weary heart
and forgotten blind love
of thee.

Will you remember
the time stood still?
A thunderous heart
for a devil’s pull.

What course is mine
to fallow and want,
a lesson in kindness?
A choice in scant
and idle pleasure.

You tore my heart
away
from bits of bigger pieces.
The whole of my life.

And forgiveness can
nevermore
be still
within unchaste longing
forgotten rhythm
and delight,
at lover’s lost
a torrid night.

My still wounded pride
surfaces to reach you
Unyielding
and evermore
the slave.

Repent.
And do your bidding
but
close the door,
shut me away
before my heart
does long to stray.

I am not
myself
when you are near.
I seek redemption
and quiet
to still
my restless heart
and unchallenged soul.

A witness to my misery and
longing
unaware of captivity
and a tumbled brew.

I long for a touch
to hasten away
the fire and rocks
beneath a troubled
heart and
unvanquished soul.

You destroy me to rebuild,
what was once whole
but broken
and flawed.

Can you see where
and why
I no longer
need your touch as
Fear has stolen the dream
Of kisses.

Harden my resolve to
cast you aside
Destroy this hunger
to keep my heart alive.

You are untrue, you reckless heart
Chasten in desire
But empty in
virtue long and true.

What would I gain,
giving over to you
the sum of all the better
years
And yet
I wish
I seek
to try again.

Against my better judgment
and caustic longing.
I wait.
I seek to forget
To dissolve.

You wrenched soul
a destroyer of heart
and life
for foolish gain.

Romantic heart, stands
waiting to your
attention.
Forgotten.

Eternity expands to open
her door
And I am swallowed
Whole.
Falling deeper
into the darker stare.

A loss of life,
of love and hearts true.
A constant longing
For none
but you.

One thought on “Love Poem: Constant Longing

  1. Pingback: Cursed Game « A Shade Of Pen

Leave a Reply

