Love Poem: And If At Last

Love Tessa saks 2
And If At Last
By Louise Labe
And if at last he drew me to his side
In hot embrace, for whom I waste away;
And if this sick necessity to stay
With him forever were satisfied;
And if he held me so and sighed,
Oh love, Let us be true, let such fatality
Join us as neither hurricane nor sea
Nor subtler turbulence shall ever move;
And if I held him bound upon my breast,
Frantic and ardent, as the ivies cling
About the mighty bough, and death should spring
Upon me: I offer all my breath
Upon his lips at last, and sink to rest.

Leave a Reply

