Love Poem: Away From You

Can I live without love and endure an empty heart?
From nights of empty promises.
Filled with desire and all the pleasure
passion affords.
But far beneath the ecstasy surfaced lies
and untold misery.
I am not what you want.
Not anymore.
And despite my best efforts to please you, I still lack so much in your estimation.
I am not perfect. But I believed in perfect love.

I believed in you. In us.
And no matter what you do with your endless hours
without me, know that I forgive.
But I will not forget.
I will remember what was.
And all that was good and pure.
The countless beautiful moments that united us in heart and body.
And kept us strong.
Until now.

Forever cast away
into the wanton nights of heartache.
Where I wait.
And wonder
If love will return.

*

By Tessa Saks

SCR-792-Among%20-%20lg

2 thoughts on “Love Poem: Away From You

Leave a Reply

