Are We Too Careful?

I used to be more reckless. More daring.
Somehow along the way I started to hedge my risk. Maybe it is part of growing up.
But as I became more responsible I also became safe.
And when you are playing it safe, you no longer take chances.

You suddenly care more about protecting what you have instead of going out and discovering more.
It can happen in so many different ways.
I wanted safe investments. More secure work. A safer neighborhood. A safer holiday.
I decorated in neutral. I wore neutrals. I embraced the blandness of neutrality for mediocrity.
So began the lure of routine and comfort in the status quo.
Nothing changed. And I didn’t want it to. I became inflexible to so many things.
Trips to the same places. Eating at the same restaurants. Shopping at the same stores and buying the same things over and over.
Discontinued products bothered me. Favorite products wearing out or breaking beyond repair caused tension.
I started buying things in multiples so I wouldn’t run out. Ever.
I didn’t want to have to make choices. To try things and have them disappoint me.
I needed my life to be predictable.
It was.

And yet I imagined taking chances.
I dreamed of opportunities. Of following my heart.
Of being a daring and bold free spirit, living life to the fullest.
Letting passion guide me to joyful adventures.
Embracing life in the moment.
Replacing anxiety with curiosity and wonder.
Sparking the fires of my soul to try new things. To step out of my comfort zone and live.
Filling my days with happiness.
And the uncertainty of tomorrow disarmed so I might experience the joy of discovery today.
Of trying something new.
Of making mistakes and moving on. Unbroken. Intact.
And never again
Being
Too careful.

*

By Tessa Saks

Placeholder Image

Careful

Leave a Reply

