Are We Rearranging Deck Chairs on the Titanic?

Sometimes in life we can’t see the failings right in front of us.
We are so filled with optimism that we neglect the harsh reality confronting us on the horizon.
I know it is for me.
And so it is for my country.
And it seems that way for the world.
I do not like politics. I want to believe the world is run by people who care.
That the people in charge know what is best for the greater good of all of us.
But as of late, I worry.

For the first time in my life I feel like we are all on the titanic and there is no point in moving the deck chairs around when…
When what?
When we financially bust?
When we go to another war?
When we destroy another democracy in the name of our freedom?
When we blame others for our problems?
When we destroy ourselves through hate and envy?
Then what?
Has anyone thought about what the world will be like when we finally hit the icebergs staring us in the face?

Even more important…what will we be like?
Will we finally heal ourselves and open to others?
Could we finally forget our differences and learn to get along?
Could everyone on the planet find joy in being alive and sharing in this experience of life?
Without hardship?
Or injustice?
Or fear?
Or pain?
Or suffering?

Could we finally rearrange our hearts to love each other as if each day was our last?
Could we begin to heal the wounds created by the chaos that we never asked for?
Could the world become better through understanding?

I don’t know the answers any more than anyone else.
If nothing else, we are all united in our confusion.
But also by our hope.

The hope that one day, we can wake up to a better world.
A world that has been rearranged.
Rearranged by love.
Our love.

*

By Tessa Saks

Rearrange

Hope is on the Horizon

5 thoughts on “Are We Rearranging Deck Chairs on the Titanic?

  1. I like the optimistic tone you took with this piece. I can’t say that optimism has returned after the election but I’m still hopeful that we’ll get where we’re going. Hopefully we’ll agree to walking in the same direction.

      • Thank you, that’s very kind of you to say.☺️
        Unfortunately, my optimism is tempered by a stubborn streak of realism. I do believe that people can rise to the challenge and be the amazing people we all want to be in the back of our minds. Too often though, we fall prey to our lower natures. Still, I am hopeful for the future.

Leave a Reply

